Franz Hautzinger / Éric Normand – Unbelievably Late


1. Nocturne (4:50)
2. The Third Wait For A Second (7:29)
3. Vlad Is Still Waiting (9:13)
4. Un Lapin Blanc (5:59)
5. Attendre La Fin (6:18)
6. Histoire Du Prince C.E. (4:32)


· Franz Hautzinger: amplified trumpet
· Éric Normand: electric bass, motors


All music by Franz Hautzinger (AKM) & Éric Normand
Recorded by Franz Hautzinger & Éric Normand at different locations in 2020-2021
Edited and mixed by Éric Normand
Mastered by Mario Gauthier
Cover linocut artworks by Nina Normand
Photos by Daniel Cemborek (Hautzinger) & Marie-Êve Campbell (Normand)
Graphic design by László Szakács
Produced by Éric Normand & László Juhász


It is possible that Alfred Jarry and Guillaume Appolinaire never met. How could this be? How could two of the weirdest guys in Paris never crossed paths? A letter from 1905 actually confirms they did meet. In this letter Appolinaire writes to Jarry that he still has his copy of “Histoire du prince C.E. et de la princesse F.” Subsequent letters show that all other possible “rendez-vous” plans fell through. The book never came back to Jarry.

Hautzinger and Normand met in 2016. Alongside Michel F. Côté, Philippe Lauzier and Xavier Charles, they formed the band Torche ! which sought to create music that is really moving. They have since tried to meet again and keep pursuing this idea, but the reunion of the quintet has still not materialized even though Franz and Éric have played as a duo, trio or quartet with Tom Mamendier and Erikm.

The music on this album is the music that was possible to put together during a pandemic; a collage of different moments in time, the result of a “rendez-vous” that became unbelievably postponed.


Released: April 2022 / first edition of 300 cds, in co-production with Tour de Bras
Direct purchase: Bandcamp / Discogs